fbpx

24/7 Support

FREE Case Evaluation

24/7 Support 404-214-2001

How to Get a Motorcycle License in Georgia

By Evan L. Kaine

An estimated 33 percent of motorcycle operators killed in traffic crashes are not licensed or are improperly licensed to operate a motorcycle. By not obtaining a motorcycle operator license, riders are bypassing the only method they and state licensing agencies have to ensure they have the knowledge and skill needed to safely and skilfully operate a motorcycle.

This statistic is alarming! Like any person operating a motor vehicle, the importance of having a proper license is a legal requirement. Unfortunately, many drivers and riders disregard these rules and are out on our roads without a proper motorcycle license or choose to drive with just a motorcycle permit.

In the state of Georgia it is easy to get the proper motorcycle license – therefore, we thought a blog post on how to get a motorcycle license could help provide such information.

Class M license – Georgia Motorcycle License

The first order of business: Georgia requires that all riders have a motorcycle license. This license is called a Class M license. Now you know so let’s learn how to operate a motorcycle. Georgia is one of the few states that offer riders a Motorcycle Instructional Permit; or a Class MP Permit. Although it is not mandatory it helps layout guidelines for riders—especially new ones. The requirements are:

  1. Must be at least 16 years old.
  2. If you’re under 17 years of age you must successfully complete 30 hours of Georgia Driver Training and Education.
  3. If you’re under 17, you must successfully complete a certified Georgia Behind the Wheel Program.
  4. Get those eyes tested and pass the vision exam.
  5. Pass the Georgia DDS exam.
  6. If you are under the age of 18, you must have a guardian, driving instructor or parent sign the authorization forms (these can be revoked at any time if the rider is under 18).

Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF) and Rider Education

The better news?!

Georgia provides a 90-day license waiver for those students over the age of 17 who pass the basic motorcycle course. The Georgia DDS will waive the written and riding test portion of your Georgia motorcycle application for 90 days following your date of graduation from the course. So the paperwork is the only thing you have to complete. Even better, many insurance companies will give motorcycle riders who have completed a formal riding education program a discount on their insurance.

The process is much easier and less painful than anticipated, right? We want to help spread the word on how learning and operating a motorcycle correctly is imperative to your safety. Please take the educational course and learn how to be a responsible rider before something tragic happens. Always wear a helmet, find a bike that matches your skill level and be defensive as you ride. Now go out there and enjoy the open road! To learn more, please visit https://dds.georgia.gov/applying-motorcycle-license

Published May 23, 2017
|

OUR PEOPLE

The Attorneys

How Can We Support You?

Everyone at Kaine Law — from our highly qualified lawyers to our dedicated staff — is ready to serve you. We realize that auto accidents can cause serious injuries that can affect every aspect of your life. If you are the victim of a car accident, we want to be your voice.

REQUEST CONSULTATION

Reviews

Videos & Media

Videos & Media

Contact Us

    Maps & Directions

    OR
      Contact Us